Professor Henryk Skarżyński honored by the President with the Century of Regaining Independence

The President of the Republic of Poland, Andrzej Duda, awarded the Medal of the Century of Regaining Independence to people who rendered meritorious service to the state and society. Professor Henryk Skarżyński was in the group of 28 people who contributed to regaining or strengthening the sovereignty of the Republic of Poland, including in particular building a civic community of Poles and a sense of national identity, development of science and fame for the reputation of the Republic of Poland. The ceremony took place in the Presidential Palace on December 12th, 2018.

– I am very happy that – in a sense refreshed – Medals of the Century of Regained Independence can be given to you – representatives of very different backgrounds, different areas of life, creation, culture, science, sport but also the struggle for free, sovereign and independent Poland – said Andrzej Duda thanking awarded guests for their accomplishments and life achievements. The President added: I am glad that we can celebrate regaining the independence in so many different ways (…) You have made and still do bring an invaluable contribution to building a free and independent Poland. I am glad that through these medals I am able to thank you on behalf of the Republic of Poland.

President Duda mentioned that the Medal of the Century of Regained Independence was established on his initiative and refers to the 2nd Republic of Poland and the 10th Anniversary of Regained Independence Medal handed in 1928. The President remarked that these decorations are in the homes of people of outstanding merit who deserve the prize for the reconstruction of an independent sovereign Polish state, for creation and their struggle for that state and also for its creation. In these houses these medals are very often a reason for family pride and evidence of memory of that great time in history.

Among the awarded there were also: Stanisława Celińska, Prof. Ryszard Karczykowski, Jan Ołdakowski, Czesław Lang, Barbara Krafft-Seidner and Marek Kamiński. The ceremony was attended by First Lady Agata Kornhauser-Duda, Speaker of the Senate Stanisław Karczewski and Minister Halina Szymańska – Chief of the Chancellery of the President, together with ministers and advisers.