Prof. Henryk Skarżyński decorated by the Prime Minister

On a proposal of the Patent Office of the Republic of Poland, Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki awarded Prof. Henryk Skarżyński with a honorary distinction “In recognition of the contributions to innovation”. The awarding ceremony was held on 28 November 2019 at the seat of the Warsaw Stock Exchange. The distinction was conferred in recognition of Professor’s singular contributions to the field of the protection of industrial property and innovation development in the Republic of Poland.

The ceremony of awarding distinctions took place after the official opening of the conference marking the 100th anniversary of Poland’s becoming a member of the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property entitled “Intellectual property yesterday and today.”

It’s worth reminding that Prof. Henryk Skarżyński’s design and inventive work has already won numerous awards. They include: Minister of Health awards, 1st class, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001; 1st Prize of the President of the Council of Ministers 2000; gold medals for inventions in the field of healthcare awarded at Innovation Fairs in Paris, Brussels, Geneva, Kuala Lumpur, Ukraine, Taipei, Nuremberg, Washington, Monaco, Moldavia, Malaysia, Romania and Japan in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013; 2018; awards and prizes of the Chairman of the State Committee for Scientific Research and the Minister of Science 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009; 2010, 2011 and 2014.

The honorary distinction “In recognition of the contributions to innovation” is a departmental decoration conferred, among others, to authors of innovation projects who distinguished themselves through significant achievements in innovation projects that have contributed to the development of science and technology and led to the improvement of the effectiveness of economic activity, as well as to people who distinguished themselves through participation in the development and implementation of innovation projects, especially those related to solutions in new technologies, and people who contributed to popularising technological works and obtaining and enforcing industrial property rights.